Unpopular opinions book tag

I was tagged by the lovely Annemieke from A Dance With Books to do the unpopular opinions book tag. It was originally created by TheBookArcher on YouTube.
Yes, unpopular means I’m going to share with you what I didn’t like about certain books or series. Yes, that means your feeling might get hurt when I say something about your favorite book or series. Just keep in mind, these are my opinions and mine only. I’m sure there’s books out there that you really didn’t like, or maybe even hated.

This post contains possible spoilers for: The hundred year old man who climbed out of the window and disappeared, Gone series, Harry Potter, and City of Bones. Continue reading at your own risk (for spoilers and hurt feelings).

Unpopular Opions Booktag         Unpopular Opions Booktag

1. A popular book or series you didn’t like

The hundred year old man who climbed out of the window and disappeared. Technically, I still haven’t finished this book (it’s been a year and a half since I started reading it), but I’m still working my way through it, because I’d like to be able to base my reviews on the whole book.
So far though, I don’t get why people like it. It’s told in a sort of history book style. That’s what it reminds me, because those books always managed to make very exciting events in history sound amazingly boring. That’s what this book does too. The events and happenings are very exciting and strange and everything! Yet, they sound SO boring. It’s why I’ve been struggling through this for a year and half now.

2. A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate, but you love

A popular book or series? Usually everyone loves the book/series but me. I’ve only picked one at the previous question, but there’s so many! I think I’ve got to choose the Gone series here, by Micheal Grant. I’ve heard a lot of people say lately that they really don’t like the series, or that it drags on too long (it kinda does), but I still love it! It reminds me a bit of Under the Dome, but without the anticlimactic ending.

3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you didn’t like

I honestly don’t know. I don’t really care much for who they end up with. Does that sound harsh? Let me explain: I read the book as it is, and accept the choices the characters make. There’s only been a few books where I didn’t like the way it ended, but none of those were related to relationships.

4. A popular book genre you hardly reach for

Contemporaries. Yep. Don’t care much for them. Unless, their main theme isn’t romance. Unfortunately many of them are. I do enjoy contemporaries about mental illness however. A theme that’s finally getting a bit more attention.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like

There’s a whole bunch of characters I don’t like. However, that doesn’t mean I didn’t like the book. Some characters are just not meant to be liked. I don’t like Dumbledore. Like, seriously, couldn’t you just have told Harry a bit more, especially when you realized that you’d been stupid all along and he needed to go find horcruxes. AND because you knew you were going to be killed pretty soon. Yep, not a fan.

6. A popular author you can’t seem to get into

Cassandra Clare. I can’t. Admittedly, I’ve only read the City of Bones, but her writing just annoys me to no end. The story wasn’t bad, the world was great. The writing though, it pissed me off enough to not continue reading the series. It just felt so fake.

7. A popular book trope you are tired of seeing

All of them, though the most annoying (and one of the reasons I don’t get along well with contemporary romance): The Beauty and the Beast/Stockholm Syndrome-love story and insta-love; so many stories where as long as the men don’t give up, they’re going to end up in love. That’s just plain creepy.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading

Any of the contemporary series, or high-fantasy (also not really my thing, it gets so complicated, though I venture into it occasionally). For example: Anna and the French Kiss, PS. I love you, Game of Thrones. Not because they’re not good, but because it’s really just not for me.

9. The saying goes, ‘the book is always better than the movie,’ but what movie or TV show adaption do you prefer more than the book

I can’t say I’ve seen any where I’ve preferred the movie (or TV show) to the book. There’s been some that have been amazingly done, but they’re still not better than the book. Then again, I haven’t read The 100 yet and I’ve heard that TV show’s much better than the book. I do love the TV show so far.

As for tagging, is there anyone that would like to be tagged for these kinds of things? Let me know, because I have no idea who likes to do tags and who doesn’t. ❤

5 thoughts on “Unpopular opinions book tag

  1. I kinda love you. Honestly.

    I HATE Dumbledore, so much. SO MUCH. Urgh. But then I hate Hagrid too. And Tonks. Hahaha.

    I vowed to never read anything by Cassandra Clare. I don’t like her. (I’ve known of her since her fanfiction days so yup, not a fan).

    Ohmy, ok. The 100 is SO GOOD. Honestly. I read the book thinking it would give me more information about the foundation of the show but it is so boring, it’s just sad how bad it is. But the show is everything the book is not: funny, dramatic, angsty, WE ARE DOOMED. I love the show so, so much. (Sorry I went all fangirly there).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I love the show! But since everyone’s been saying the books isn’t all that great I can’t give an honest comparison; because why would I read a book no one likes?

      I’ve heard a lot about the fanfiction days and I didn’t really want to read anything by her, but at some point just wanted to give it a try… and that’s where that ended. Definitely not for me.

      There’s so many characters that seem very lovable at first sight, but really… First one that came to mind was Dumbledore, so I just went with that though.

      Like

      1. I didn’t know anything about the book before I read it (after I watched the show, though) and I went into it with such high hopes. But I think I hate it. I’m using that word.

        I did watch the movie they made based on her book, and sure it has some original elements but it’s basically the Draco trilogy with another name.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yeah, haha. I read The 100. I haven’t seen the tv show but I have no doubt it is better than the book.

    I read the Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices, and though I really liked the last one, I understand what you mean. I have no interest in reading any of her other books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

