On my bookshelf #1

Everyone likes bookshelf tours, right? I know I do! I just wasn’t quite sure until now how to do it. I’ll be posting ten books from my bookshelves every week to show you which books I own. I’ll do them alphabetically by author’s last name. I’ve also decided to not show any study/cookbooks (though this might change in the future, if you’re interested in those as well).

I also talk about each book a little bit as well (no spoilers of course), though usually it’s not about the content of the book anyway. More whether I liked/disliked the book and sometimes how I got it.

I hope you’ll enjoy seeing small parts of my bookshelves as much as I love showing them.

# of books I currently own: 436
# currently unread: 109

On my bookshelf #1 | The first 10 books on my bookshelf1. The Saga of Gunnlaug Serpent-tongue – Anon
I thought the story was quite interesting, but the way it was written made it a horrible read for me. I’d unhaul it, but it’s part of the Penguin LBC and I really want to keep all of those!

2. De Zwarte Rugzak – Marja Abbing and Marjet van Cleeff
I’ve read this at one point or another and I’m currently rereading the book. It starts off a bit strange, but let’s wait and see.

3. Pietje Bell – Chris van Abkoude
I’ve no idea what this one was about anymore. It’s also due for a reread and unhaul check

4. Das Alphabethaus – Jussi Adler-Olsen
This was a bit of a strange book and I really didn’t enjoy it. I think it might be best if I would just unhaul this one. There’s no way anyway that I’ll ever reread this.

5. The Wrath & the Dawn – Renée Ahdieh
One of my favorite reads this year! I’m very impatiently awaiting the sequel, which comes out next year.

6. American Dervish – Ayad Ahktar
I really enjoyed reading this one at the beginning of this year.

7. Ines of my Soul – Isabel Allende
It’s been a while since I’ve had this one in my hands. I think the book was just kinda meh, as far as I can remember. I definitely need to check it and see if I should just unhaul it. I’m pretty sure I’ve got better books to reread than this one.

8. Sprookjes en Vertellingen – Hans Christan Andersen
I’ve read some of his fairy tales, but not nearly all from this huge book!

9. The Tinder Box – Hans Christan Andersen
I finished this not too long ago, though I thought most of the fairy tales in this LBC by Penguin were just quite cruel.

On my bookshelf #1 | The first 10 books on my bookshelf10. Eigen Vuur (Niran Sadiqa) – Alaa al Aswany
Very interesting read. I will keep this around for a while for sure.

This is quite insightful. Besides seeing which ones I’ve read, I can immediately go through a short list to see if there’s any reason to keep all these books. As I’ve no intention on ever rereading #4, it might be best to donate it so others can enjoy it.

Ps. I’ve not got all my books on hand all the time, so I’ll try adding pictures of the ones I have around. Unfortunately, like me, my books live in two countries and taking ALL of them with me is just not possible. However, all of the books mentioned are hardcopies; no eBooks in these lists! (maybe I’ll make a separate list some day).

Let me know if you’ve read any of these books or plan on doing so, and of course what you think of seeing all my books and my thoughts on them. Is it something you would like to see more of? I hope so, because I really enjoyed writing it and the second one is already finished.

3 thoughts on “On my bookshelf #1

  1. loved this – this is such a good idea!! I might have to borrow it haha (full credit to you of course!) currently I do a monthly summary of what I’ve read each month (I’ve only just started that this month haha) as I find I so interesting to hear about what others read – I can’t wait to find out more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

