Literary Lessons – vocabulary #3

Literary Lessons - Vocabulary #3Again, this amazing P. D. James novel increased my vocabulary. These are the ten words I found in there that I didn’t know before.

Honestly, the amount of words I found in this book makes me almost feel like I don’t know the English language at all!

The Children of Men
P. D. James
978-0-571-25341-8

Gaucherie (p.57)
1. a tactless or awkward act
Probity (p.59)
1.  the quality of a person who is completely honest
Atavistic (p.63)
1
a. recurrence in an organism of a trait or character typical of an ancestral form and usually due to genetic recombination
b. recurrence of or reversion to a past style, manner, outlook, approach, or activity
2. one that manifests atavism
Incipient (p.65)
1. beginning to develop or exist
Rebarbative (p.66)
1. repellent, irritating
Bodkin (p.67)
1.
a. dagger, stiletto
b. a sharp slender instrument for making holes in cloth
c. an ornamental hairpin shaped like a stiletto
2. a blunt needle with a large eye for drawing tape or ribbon through a loop or hem
Comminations (p.69)
1.  denunciation
Ineluctable (p.72)
1. not able to be avoided or changed
Hamlet (p.73)
1. a small village
Estuaries (p.74)
1. an area where a river flows into the sea

I especially thought hamlet was a good one. Of course I know Shakespeare’s play by the same name. However, I never knew that the meaning of it was “small village”.

Which of these do you find most interesting?

8 thoughts on “Literary Lessons – vocabulary #3

  1. Hey, I knew some of these because they sound like their meaning in Spanish 😀

    I do this too, sometimes. So far, the book that’s had more unknown words to me is The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

