Confessions of a book blogger #3 – I don’t ship fictional characters

Confessions of a book blogger #3 -  I don't ship fictional charactersYou read that right. I don’t ship characters. I’ve mentioned it before somewhere in one of my blog posts, but I feel like I should really put it out there now.

Ever since I started reading (pretty much right after I was born), I’ve read (or listened to) stories and just accepted them the way they were. Sure, sometimes I didn’t like the way things ended (I’m all for happy endings), but that’s just the way it was. I never even considered that you could want a character in a book to end up with someone else than they did. I mean, it’s a story. You can’t change that. Why bother even thinking about what should be different.

Since my entrance into the book community a year or two ago (though I was only following people at that time, not making my own content), I’ve started to think about this more. There have been stories I would’ve liked to turn out different, yet I still can’t make myself care for the relationship of fictional characters. It’s just not my thing.

Perhaps because romance isn’t really my thing. Not in books; I’ll read the occasional contemporary romance, but usually I stick to all the other genres. Also, not in real life. I really enjoy my boyfriend being romantic, but I suck at it. Wait, that should be capitalized: I SUCK at it. I’m ok with that though: me doing romance is just not realistic. I’ve got things I’m much better that.

What about you? Do you ship fictional characters? Do you have an OTP? Do you have any idea how long it took me after first seeing OTP to figure out what it meant?

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a book blogger #3 – I don’t ship fictional characters

  1. I don’t really do romance either but I do ship and I ship a lot. I have an OTP for each fandom (though I’m not really active in fandoms anymore). I have ships for books, series, movies. I don’t like real life shipping or fanfiction, but I do read fanfiction still, mostly of books I love or series I can’t get enough of. I’d list them all but I’m late for lunch πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Yes, yes I do. I’ve been in fandoms since I was 14 and it took me the longest time to figure out otp as well, haha. I’m not a big romance person because it is cheesy, or love triangles or just not believable. I have shipped characters together, mostly from tv shows and anime/manga that I watched or read. I don’t seem to have that with books so much.

    There is one couple that I would have liked (Hermoine and Krum) because I think it is fun to see how that could have ended, but other than that not so much. Well I like Sophie and Howl together. I suppose they are my otp, haha. I’ve never been apart of shippping wars and I have never understood them. You like your couple, I like mine, and that is fine. No need to argue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! The shipping wars are so weird, especially when the books are all finished and then the first movie comes out, and it’s Team Edward vs Team Jacob, while that wasn’t even a thing before the movie came out.
      I just don’t get it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

