On my bookshelf #13

Are you getting fed up yet, looking at a list of books every week? I’m not! Like I explained before, I quite enjoy going through all of my books one by one and considering what they mean to me (and whether or not I should keep them).

Total number of books: 456
Unread books: 103

34371. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time – Mark Haddon

I absolutely loved this book and it’s on my to be reread list (should I start calling it a TBRR?) I think the little touch of numbering all the chapters with prime numbers was awesome!

2. The Dead Fathers Club – Matt Haig

This wasn’t my kind of book. It was alright, but I found most of it just not realistic. And yes, that’s while assuming ghosts are real (it’s a Hamlet retelling). So, on the to-trade pile it went.

3. Pan – Knut Hamsun*

I pulled this book out of a stack of books my mom got from a colleague. I’ve yet to read it, but it’s got a stunning cover.

4. Vogelman – Mo Hayder*
5. Duivelswerk – Mo Hayder

I’ve read the first one of these, but not the second. The second I also got from somewhere. I think it was my mom’s, but she didn’t really enjoy the goriness in the books. I didn’t think it was that bad in the one I read, so I kept the other one as well.

On my bookshelf #13 | For whom the Bell tolls by Ernest Hemmingway6. For whom the Bell tolls – Ernest Hemmingway*
7. Knulp – Herman Hesse*
8. De Donkere Kamer van Damokles – Willem Frederik Hermans*

Just some classics in English, German and Dutch that I have yet to read. Some day people, some day. I will read all the classics… some day. I’m slowly making my way through them.

9. Silla – Frederike Hieronymi

A German children’s book that I bought when it was on sale. I’ve started it a couple of times, but have yet to finish it.

10. De Geheime Tuin – Francis Hodgson Burnett

No, no, no. The Secret Garden is not a book I enjoyed. I’m seriously considering getting rid of it, though I don’t like to get rid of classics or children’s books… this one is both.

Have you read any of these books? Can you recommend them to me? Or should I perhaps just skip them?

PS. If you would like any of the books I’m getting rid of, let me know! We can probably figure something out!

*Pre-loved books
Leave a Reply

