Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Book review | Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen | 4 stars

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Synopsis

My book came without a synopsis, so I took this synopsis for Goodreads:

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

The opening of Jane Austen’s ever-popular novel sets the tone of her sparkling comedy of manners and morals.

There are five daughters in the Bennet family and marriage is the only career open to them. There is naturally much excitement when two young men of good fortune move into the district. But before there can be a happy ending, the hero must conquer his overwhelming pride and Elizabeth, the spirited heroine, her prejudices against him. Only by taking the route to self-knowledge can they reach a mature understanding of each other and find lasting contentment.


Bullet-point review

★★★★☆

+ witty
+ n’aaaw-worthy (because it’s so cute in places)
+ amazingly real (and sometimes annoying) characters

– it’s quite long-winded in places
– takes a while for the actual story to get started


Full Review

Whenever I see a classic with a gorgeous cover, I just have to buy it (especially if they’re second-hand, cheap, and the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen, like with my copy of P&P). However, I have a really hard time picking them up and reading them. So also with this book. It took me about 100 pages before I became engrossed in it. However, after that, I couldn’t put it down anymore!

It is a witty novel that shows the tendency of the times it was written in. Through the speech patterns and the manners of the characters it feels as if you’re actually joining Elizabeth Bennet during all her endeavors.

In certain instances I found it difficult to make out who exactly was speaking; there’s a lot of Mr. Mrs. Miss. Last Name’s, not usually improving legibility. However, after some back and forth I could usually manage.

If you’re a fan of period novels, this one’s for you!


3 thoughts on “Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. Actually read P&P a couple of days ago 🙂
    Still not completely sure how I feel about it though.. It’s not really my kind of book and at first I really didn’t like it and struggled to get through it quite a bit, but after a while I was surprised to find myself actually enjoying it 🙂

    Like

  2. Same thing happened to me with the Mr and Miss and figuring out who was talking when! But it’s still a good novel, I think. I prefer Persuasion, though I have yet to read the rest of Austen’s novels, but I enjoyed it a lot (considering P&P is my favorite movie, it’s such a pleasure to read the source material with the movie in my mind).

    Like

Leave a Reply

