Blogger Recognition Award

I've been tagged for the Blogger Recognition AwardAnother tag/award post! This time I was tagged by Melanie from Dat Little Blog to do the Blogger Recognition Award. Thank you! The rules are fairly simple and straightforward:

Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.

Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide the link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.

Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you’ve created.

Link to the original post at Edge of Night


I started my blog at the end of May this year (2015). After reading so many blogs, watching so many YouTube channels and looking at all the pretty Instagram pictures on my feed everyday, I decided that it was time to finally write something myself. I already had an Instagram page dedicated to books, but that just didn’t lend itself very well to long captions. Long Instagram captions are mostly just annoying. So instead, I figured I needed a blog to write down all my opinions.

I set up the blog and then… well… nothing. I didn’t really know what to write. So, I started reviewing books. I was going to have a book blog after all and reviews are part of that. Eventually, ideas started to come and so far, they haven’t stopped.


My advice to new bloggers? Well, I’m pretty new at this myself. What I can tell you however, is that a good way to start is just look at others, see what they’re doing and take the parts you like and leave out the parts you don’t. It’s one of the things I did when I got started.

I didn’t quite know what set-up to use for anything, but soon discovered that the pages I like reading through best, were the ones with a simple lay-out, nothing too complicated. If I had to click too many buttons/links to get anywhere, I’d stop looking. Thus, I’ve tried to make the lay-out of my blog as easy as possible (if it needs improvement, please let me know).

Once you’ve figured out what you like and what you don’t like about other blogs, you’ll be much better able to figure out what you want for your own blog (lay-out, but also posts).


People I’ve tagged:

Emily from Emily’s Bookcase
Ashleigh from Miss Book Dependent
Amanda Nicole from amandanicolebooks
Sally from Salboho
Jane Emily from Beyond Seventeen Reviews
Anni from beelovesbooks
Sophie from Sophie’s Web
Varsh from WordsAreMagicGalore
Ellen from Eveningreads
Chelsea from Book in a Nook
Pearl from bibliopearl
Urooj from Urooj Reads
Safia from Safia’s Bookblog
Michaela from floralinkbooks
Clare from Stacks and Shelves

2 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

