Unhaul #2

In the past couple of months I have gotten rid of quite a few books. Especially after moving, I removed a whole bunch of books from my sheves. Ones I kept because they looked pretty, but I really didn’t enjoy, as well as books I bought but really wasn’t interested in anymore. This means that in total I got rid of  68 books.

Unhaul #2 - 68 books that no longer live with me
My book shelves without those 68 books (in the new house!)

I was planning on just showing everyone the list of all the books, but while making it I discovered that I had gotten rid of a lot more books than I had thought. I’m quite proud of myself to be honest. Sure, there are still books in my bookcase that I might never read or reread, but those are the ones I’d still be willing to give a shot.

Obviously, the list is still down here and if you look carefully, you might see some surprises in there. There were a few books that were/are quite popular I just didn’t enjoy very much.

What books have you decided to part with this year? Is it because you didn’t enjoy them, or for other reasons? Or perhaps you find the whole notion of getting rid of books ridiculous? Let me know in the comments!

Ps. Most of the Dutch books went to my mom, while the English and German ones were donated to a refugee center here in Germany.

  1. De Zwarte Rugzak by Abbing and Van Cleeff
  2. Ines of my Soul by Isabel Allende
  3. De Verloren Schat by Thea Beckman
  4. De Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown
  5. De Delta Deceptie by Dan Brown
  6. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
  7. De Geheime Tuin by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  8. Treasure Island by Walt Disney
  9. The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer
  10. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
  11. De Spokenjagers en het Vuurspook by Cornelia Funke
  12. Anna Schreibt an Mister Gott by Fynn
  13. Griezelversen I by Het Griezelgenootschap
  14. Dead Fathers Club by Matt Haig
  15. Knulp by Hermann Hesse
  16. Emails aus Afrika by Sigrid Heuck
  17. Das Tote Land by Wolfgang Hohlbeins
  18. Die Brennende Stadt by Wolfgang Hohlbeins
  19. Der Wandernde Wald by Wolfgang Hohlbeins
  20. Ghost Girl – Thuiskomst by Tonya Hurley
  21. Sisi by Marieluise von Ingenheim
  22. Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James
  23. Fifty Shades Darker by E L. James
  24. Fifty Shades Freed by E. L. James
  25. De 100 Jarige Man die uit het Raam Klom en Verdween by Jonas Jonasson
  26. Dik Trom by C. Joh. Kievit
  27. Under the Dome by Stephen King
  28. Mensch Meier by Franz Xaver Kroetz
  29. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
  30. Die Seiten der Welt by Kai Meyer
  31. Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  32. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
  33. Requiem by Lauren Oliver
  34. Das Alphabethaus by Adler Olsen
  35. Witch and Wizard by James Patterson
  36. The Kiss by James Patterson
  37. The Fire by James Patterson
  38. The Gift by James Patterson
  39. De Wraak van het Spruitje by Jan Paul Schutten
  40. Das Goldene Vlies by Gustav Schwab
  41. Der Kampf um Troja by Gustav Schwab
  42. Die Heimkehr des Odysseus by Gustav Schwab
  43. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
  44. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  45. Moord bij het Hunnebed by Frans Steenmeijer and Tineke Steenmeijer
  46. The Art of Leaving by Ana Stothard
  47. Briefgeheim by Jan Terlouw
  48. Oorlogswinter by Jan Terlouw
  49. Me and the Marquis by Tyburn Way
  50. The Custom of the Country by Edith Wharton
  51. The Bookthief by Markus Zusak
  52. Het Geheim van het Behekste Huis
  53. De Geest van de Dode Krijger
  54. Het Geborduurde Geheim
  55. Het Geheim van Zwarte Water
  56. De Grotten van de Duivelsketel
  57. Alex en het Mysterie van de Raaf
  58. Buffy the Vampire Slayer – Het Bloedspoor
  59. Grundschul-Übungsbuch Deutsch
  60. Spanish Dictionary
  61. Practica tu Espanol
  62. Competencia gramatical en Uso
  63. Grandes Randonnees
  64. Libro de Trabajo
  65. Accounting in a Business Context
  66. Understanding the Theory and Design of Organizations
  67. The New Era of Management
  68. Pinciples and Practice of Marketing
7 thoughts on “Unhaul #2

    1. Thank you! I thought it was finally time to get a nice sort of ‘library’, when moving into my new house. I’m quite glad with the way it turned out!

      Ah yes, I knew that was going to happen for some people. There were a couple of books I know a lot of people liked but just didn’t work for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

