Favorite English books of 2015

I’ve decided to do three favorite posts. One for each language that I’ve read books in. The Dutch and German ones will be up next year (It’s so weird to say that)!

These are my favorite English books that I’ve read in 2015!

DSCN2654.JPG
Unfortunately there are a couple of books missing from this picture. One of them has been lent to a friend and the others are ebooks.

1. The Martian by Andy Weir

This was such a realistic Mars adventure! It was all suspense from beginning to end. If you like science fiction and haven’t read this yet, what are you waiting for!?

2. Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie

I’d never read Peter Pan before. I honestly thought it was going to be ‘meh’. It wasn’t. It was incredible! I suppose Disney ruined it for me, because the real thing was actually amazing.

3. I don’t know how she does it by Allison Pearson

It wasn’t just the story that I loved about this book. It was also one of those books that make you think. One of those questions keeps coming back: Why is it that (in a lot of cases) the women are raising the children and the men are making money. Why can’t everyone do both?

4. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

A beautiful story with wonderful worlds to explore. I can’t wait to get my hands on the second book (I’ve not been able to buy it yet). The different worlds are so alluring and appealing that I keep wanting more!

5. Schizo by Nic Sheff

A superb story about mental health, from a more realistic point of view. Besides that it’s a story about love (non-romantic), and bravery. I can’t say much more without spoiling it, so go check it out!

6. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

I read the three books by Gillian Flynn this year, and while they were all first-rate books, this one was my favorite. She really is the master of bizarre twists.

7. Imogene in New Orleans by Hunter Murphy

A very quirky family adventure, where grandma uncovers who murdered a friend of the family. She and the bulldog make great side characters. Another lovely thing is that the main characters are gay men, but that their sexuality isn’t part of the plot line. It’s just who they are.

8. The Legacy Human by Susan Kaye Quinn (ebook)

Another science fiction/dystopian book, where robots have taken over the world and humans are just kept around because wiping them out completely would reduce biological diversity. A resistance is forming though…

9. Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis (ebook)

What would a world with little water look like? The way it does in the dystopian world McGinnis created. It’s chaos. It’s girl power. It’s tough. It does not have a traditional happy ending.

10. Slated by Teri Terry (ebook)

Another dystopian science-fiction read. Minds of minors are wiped of all memories when they’ve committed a crime, … or an infraction, … or anything that goes remotely against what the government wants. Obviously, that makes for an amazing story!

Have you read any of these books before? And what were your favorite (English) books of 2015? Let me know in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “Favorite English books of 2015

  1. Myrthe! I’m absolutely honored to be on this list. Dank je wel! 🙂 I can’t wait to send you the next adventure with Imogene and the boys (probably late spring/ early summer). I appreciate you being so cool. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year! I loved the book, especially because it’s so different from most of the other books that I read last year. It’s great to read something original and funny. I can’t wait for the next one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

