Favorite German books of 2015

I’ve decided to do three favorite posts. One for each language. These are my favorite German books that I’ve read in 2015!

DSCN2660.JPG

1. Rubinrot by Kerstin Gier
(translations according to Goodreads: Bulgarian, Czech, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, Greek, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish)

My first introduction to Kerstin Gier. YA, romance, contemporary with a bit of magic. A cute romance with a quirky teen caught in a time-travel cult. I finished the series in days.

2. Die Mütter-Mafia by Kerstin Gier
(translations according to Goodreads: Bulgarian, Czech, Dutch, Greek, Hungarian, Slovenian, Turkish)

I decided to also pick up the adult novels by Kerstin Gier. This one was brilliant! About a the less-than-perfect not-so-super mom. An hilarious account of this divorced mother of two and how she deals with life.

3. Katzenkönig Mauzenberger by Erwin Moser
(translations according to Goodreads: Dutch)

One of the funniest children’s books I’ve read this year. A king of cats has four wishes for his birthday, which his citizens (and the mice since they’re not at war with mice anymore) try to make come true. It ends differently than one would expect. A rarity in children’s literature.

4. In Wahrheit wird viel mehr gelogen by Kerstin Gier
(translations according to Goodreads: Czech, Italian, Polish, Romanian, Spanish)

The last Gier book in this list. One that really resonated with me, because I could really identify with this main character (though I have a feeling others might have a bit more trouble with this; the main character is eccentric). Loved it! Kerstin Gier writes the funniest books!

5. MondSilberLicht by Marah Woolf
(translations according to Goodreads: English, French)

My first mermaid book. I didn’t know that when I started it, or I probably wouldn’t have. I have no interest in mermaids. This one was brilliant though. The first one of the series had a bit of a Twilight-esque vibe (without the stalking); a romance between mystical beings.

Have you read any of these books before? And what were your favorite (German) books of 2015? Let me know in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Favorite German books of 2015

Leave a Reply

