Sunday Post #20 – How hard is it to READ!?

Sunday Post #20.jpegThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba, the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This way, I can tell you a little about my week and sum up what happened on the blog and everything else that I find interesting.


This week on the blog

Next week on the blog

  • On my bookshelf #16
  • Review: Vogelman by Mo Hayder (original title: Birdman)
  • Review: Winter by Marissa Meyerf

Personal

I had another job interview. Unfortunately it turns out that it’s really hard for people to read your resume… I had been emailing with someone from that clinic for a while, because the date the new part of the clinic would open kept being postponed. Finally, I was invited over last Monday, which is when I found out they wanted someone with experience, because they would be the only psychologist there. Well, obviously it wouldn’t be smart to let me do that. They could’ve seen that if they’d bothered to read any part of my resume. Ugh! Seriously though, there were 5 people at that interview (which is weird enough), but no one bothered to look through the resume beforehand?

My Christmas decorations are finally down. I took all the pictures I needed to be able to write a DIY post about the Christmas tree. I don’t know if anyone is interested in that, but I’ll still put it up a few weeks before Christmas this year!

The picture up there is the city hall from Duderstadt. It’s the closest city (can you call it a city?) around, and I hadn’t been to the city center until last weekend, when we (boyfriend, parents and me) decided to check it out. It’s very very pretty.

Alan Rickman died this week. I’ve seen a lot of RIPs and Thank Yous and You’ll Be Misseds all over the Internet. Of course, he was a great actor, but like with any celebrity dying, I always feel a bit awkward when people gush over everything as if they were this person’s bestest friend in the whole wide world. My life isn’t going to change because some person that was in a bunch of movies I loved died. I find it insincere and disrespectful to the people whose life will change over this: the people who knew him personally, to pretend/say that my life was really affected by this person. Maybe I’m the odd one out, but it doesn’t affect me, saying it does just comes across as awfully strange to me.


Book-related

new books:

7736182  6849754  26233888

books finished:

13206900


Around the Blogosphere (and such)

  • Christina from Girl in the Pages discusses culture heritage and book written by authors with that same heritage: Considering my culture when reading.
  • Becca from Becca and Books discusses some of the pros and cons of self-hosting. I know I’d love to, as soon as I have any money coming in!
27 thoughts on “Sunday Post #20 – How hard is it to READ!?

  1. It’s weird that the people interviewing you hadn’t really read your resumé, it probably means you don’t really want to work with them, if they’re not able to do something that basic…
    I think sometimes, when famous people die, we feel as affected as if they were a part of our family, especially if we’ve been a fan for a very long time. With both movie stars and musicians, we see them in our homes (if we want to – on our TVs) and so we can definitely form a somewhat one-sided but still intimate relationship with them.
    I hope you’ll enjoy your new books.
    Have a wonderful week and happy reading.

    Like

  2. I haven’t had to deal with a resume for myself in awhile, but my son went through that. It was really weird how they never read the resume or seemed as though they didn’t even look at the applications. A total waste of time.

    As for famous people dying … Sometimes they have impacted people’s lives. Their music and/or acting may have inspired someone, or took them through tough times. Just because we don’t know someone personally, doesn’t mean it isn’t sad when they’re gone. Sometimes people need to express that loss. I mean, heck, I cry and feel it when a fictional character in a book dies, so … yeah. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apparently taking the time to actually read a resume is just not a thing anymore. Maybe I should just apply for a surgeon’s position or something, see how that works out 😉

      That’s the thing though (for me), I can feel sad and cry for a fictional character, but somehow never had this when a celebrity passed away. I never understood much of celebrities to begin with, so perhaps that’s why it’s different to me.

      Thank you for your input and stopping by. Have a great week!

      Like

    1. There were so many pretty buildings there, all (made to) look old German, with those big beams, in various colors.

      Thank you for stopping by and have a great week!

      Like

  3. As you know I’m job hunting as well and know what you mean about your resume and applications… the number of people who don’t bother to read them is worrying.

    I’m kind of at the other end of my career, so just wanting something part-time. I’ve done the long hours and hard slog and want to have some work / life balance so just want to earn enough money to pay my bills and have a few treats!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can totally understand where you’re coming from. At the moment, I would pretty much take any job. Well, ok, for now I’m still looking in the field I studied for, however soon I’ll have to just go for anything. Having no money coming in is pretty crappy.

      Like

    1. It is frustrating! I’m just glad they invited me over nearer to where I live, instead of where I might have had to work; saved me a lot of time.

      I loved Winter as well! The review should be up on Saturday.

      Have a good week!

      Like

  4. I am sorry about the job interview. They don’t sound very well-organized, not even bothering to read resumes. I hope you are able to find something soon. Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea, I guess they’re not very well organized. It’s a different branch of the same clinic I did an internship for, and there they were already very chaotic. Unfortunately, one does need a job.

      Have a good week!

      Like

  5. Oh, I love the photo of the city hall…it reminds me of the buildings in a village in California called Solvang, which is all about luscious Scandinavian delights.

    Yes, your words are true about how we overreact to the deaths of celebrities…I think that sometimes, when we admire an actor because of movies we’ve seen, we realize that, while watching, we felt connected to that person.

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does look a bit Scandinavian, doesn’t it? This is definitely German, although maybe someone with Scandinavian roots built it? I might just try to find out now. I’ve gotten a bit curious.

      Thank you for your input on the deaths of celebrities, I’m starting to understand a bit better why I don’t feel the way most people do. Thank you, have a nice week!

      Like

  6. You got some great books this week! I hope you enjoy Winter. I’m a little behind on that series but the books are soooo long 😦 My attention span is a little limited, sadly.

    I totally know what you mean about people gushing about famous people dying. For me, though, with actors, I’ll miss seeing their talents showcased in new ways, seeing them in new projects where more and more people can appreciate the actor’s talent. For instance, Alan Rickman, I loved him in Die Hard but he became hugely popular in Harry Potter and I was so happy to see more and more people appreciate his talent. That’s why I’m sad… no more new works from him. Selfish, probably…. oh well 🙂

    And what is up with people not bothering to read resumes????? sheesh….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved Winter! It is just so long, even though I didn’t really realize I’d been reading forever in it until I was already half way through.

      Thank you for explaining why you felt sad (selfish or not: I don’t think there’s anything wrong with a bit of selfishness). It gives me a bit of a better perspective on it.

      Have a great week!

      Like

  7. I agree with your thoughts on celebrity deaths. I feel like, the person was not someone I actually knew. But people die every day that I never knew. Just because one is a celebrity, why is that one more special? But I suppose people are allowed to say and feel what they want. Posting about it just isn’t something I do either. And that does sound like an odd/frustrating interview. Have a great week though!

    Like

    1. That’s how I feel about it as well. Obviously people are allowed to say and feel what they want, it just seems odd to me when you didn’t actually know the person. Although, some people here have been nice enough to give me a bit of an explanation. I still don’t see it ever applying to myself, but, how knows?

      Have a good week!

      Like

  8. I don’t think it’s strange or disrespectful at all to show your respect to an actor or singer who died. Even if you’ve never seen or spoken to that person in real-life they can still mean something to you. Everyone acts differently and I think people should react and act the way they want to. And not wanting too, doesn’t make you strange either! 😉
    I’ve bought Winter this week. I’ve only read the first book yet, but I can’t wait to read more.
    Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I completely agree on your thoughts on famous people dying and the reactions that follow. Sure it’s sad that the person is no longer alive, but I didn’t know them personally, so I’m not going to post anything about it. I can understand that for some people some famous people can mean something special, and still they didn’t know the person privately, you only know some of their work and that’s in the end not that much.

    Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly my thoughts! I suppose people feel like they knew someone, which is why they’re sad (with good reason). It’s just that I don’t think you can know someone (not really), if there’s ever only been a one-sided interest.

      Have a good week!

      Like

  10. I think when famous people have a impact on your life, and sometimes profound impact like David Bowie had on my music, you feel very close to them and deeply saddened when they die. There is nothing strange in that. The loss of talented artists is true grief for their fans.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To me, it is strange. To me though, all of celebrity culture is strange. I don’t feel close to any person that I’ve never met, which is why I think it’s strange.
      However, I get your point. If you do feel close to someone, whether it makes sense or not, you’re of course going to feel bad about their death.

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

