Confession of a bookblogger #5 – I hardly ever buy new releases

IMG_20150602_083601
I was going to add a nice picture of the last new release book I bought immediately when it came out, but I can’t even remember the last time I immediately bought a new release.

That’s the sad, sad truth; I don’t have the money for it. Weirdly enough, I don’t think I’ll ever have the money to buy all the new releases right when they come out. Maybe it’s my stingy Dutch upbringing (is that seriously still what foreigners believe btw?), but I just don’t think it’s worth it to buy themΒ as soon as they come out. Is that just me?

There are so many books that I want to read, and so many that I’ve never even heard of that are probably amazing. A whole bunch of those can be gotten from second hand stores (if you want to own a copy), a library or friends. Sure, I can (in the future) spend all of my hard earned money on new shiny books. But there’s no guarantee that they’ll make me happier than all those well-loved books waiting in the second hand stores. Thus, I like to save my money and be very picky about the books I pre-order. After all, the next big thing in bookland is always right around the corner.

What do you think? Do you want all (or most) of the new releases as soon as they come out, and do you then also buy them all? Or do you find (just like me) that sometimes money is better spend on things that are not books? Let me know in the comments below!

8 thoughts on “Confession of a bookblogger #5 – I hardly ever buy new releases

  1. I just laughed out loud-I married into the Dutch culture/heritage, and live in a community with a large Dutch population, and yes thriftiness is next to Godliness πŸ™‚ It’s rubbed off on me, because I get all my books from the library and NEVER buy books, ever. I don’t actually own any books (but I read 14 in January-all free from the library). I just don’t see the point in spending money on something I can get for free (and I’m a minimalist, so having stacks of books in my house would make my eye twitch!). Great post πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The spirit is still alive somewhere! Ok, here too, though I do like to own my books.
      I’ve actually been trying to go more minimalist (I don’t think I could ever be a true minimalist), and so far it’s pretty great! I got rid of half of my clothes last year; there were just too many. My books though… I can only let go the ones I didn’t love, which leaves me still with a lot of them.

      Like

  2. I’d never heard the Dutch where stingy!! Us Scots are supposed to be!

    When I see a book I love 9 times out of 10 I will buy it/pre-order but if it is a book I would like then I look for the cheapest possible way to buy it which usually is second hand through Amazon marketplace or eBay.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i buy some new releases just because Bookdepository is super cheap for me (books in Chile are very expensive), so if I really want to read something, I get it there. Otherwise, I can wait for them to come out on paperback, I do love paperback, or get them in digital form for my Kindle. The exception is Neil Gaiman, because I buy anything he does, as soon as I can.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. While I do have a couple of authors whose books I buy as soon as the are released, most of the time I don’t buy new releases. sure sometimes something is too exciting to not buy when it’s still new, but most of the time I wait for a cheaper paperback to come out (and see if i’m still interested at that time..)

    Like

  5. Agreed! I only buy new releases if it’s either a long awaited sequel in a series I’m addicted to or some of my favorite authors. Otherwise I love love love second hand book stores.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

