On my bookshelf #18

This is going to be an interesting one. Most of these books I didn’t even really know I had. Some are children’s books that until recently were living a ‘happily ever after’ in my parents basement. Until they, you know, were taken away from the one home they had ever known to move to a new and strange place. A book’s got a tough life!

DSCN2789.JPG

1. Brenna, Duff – Te cool

One of those books described above. I don’t think I’ve read it. Once I have, you’ll be the first to know.

2. Brown, Dan – Inferno

Bought this one quite recently; I discovered a new book store with discounted books (probably scratch & dent, though I didn’t see any on the books I picked). Of course, books had to be bought.

3. Busser, Marianne – De Koning zonder Kroon

Another one from the opening paragraph. Don’t know it; one day soon.

4. Cabot, Meg – Give me Five

One of the princess diaries books. I don’t own (or have read) the other ones. Everyone seems to love them though, and I’m just wondering if I should jump straight into the fifth book or actually read the other ones first. I mean, they’re not going to have the most complicated story line, so how hard would it be to understand?

5. Chambers, Aidan – Tirannen

And another one from that first paragraph.

6. Cornwell, Patricia – Port Mortuary
7. Cornwell, Patricia – Portrait of a Killer

The first one I recently stole back from my mom. It was still in her bookcase, but I know she didn’t buy any of the Patricia Cornwell books in English, so it’s mine! (I think there’s more in her book case even). We both have a slight obsession with the Kay Scarpetta series. We read them all in the strangest order, which was kinda fun (and sometimes confusing, because…. can’t say: spoiler). The Portait of a Killer is about Jack the Ripper and the only (older) book by her that I haven’t read yet. I also need to catch up on the more recent releases of Kay Scarpetta.

8. Dekkers, Midas – Het Walvismeer
9. Diekman, Mies – Mens te Koop

More of those ‘first paragraph’ books. I’ll get to them at some point.

10. Doyle, Sir Arthur Conan – The Hound of the Baskervilles

Still working my way to this one. I bought it second hand a while ago, but haven’t yet had the chance to pick it up.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “On my bookshelf #18

    1. I’m a bit ashamed to say I still have to read any Sherlock Holmes stories. The movies and shows I’ve tried to watch I never enjoyed, so it’s made me a bit hesitant about the books. However, like always they’re probably quite different.

      Like

Leave a Reply

