Confessions of a book blogger #6 – I don’t like reading challenges

Reading challenge banner

Throughout the year, as most of you will know, there are numerous reading challenges that one can compete in. Some are fairly simple, only prescribing the number of books as a goal. Others, will try to give specific prompts to use when picking out a book (e.g. a book with a number in the title, a book with a blue cover). However, what all of them have in common, and what I hate about them, is that they ‘force’ you to read.

The whole point of a challenge is of course completing it. Though I’m a huge fan of deadlines (I almost always finished my assignments minutes before them), I really don’t like to feel pressured into something. Whether that be drinking alcohol (seriously, cut the crap, I don’t like that shit!), or reading certain books.

I pick out the books I read based on what I feel like reading, so if I have no good books with blue on the cover, then it’s really just not going to happen. Reading a certain number of books seems a bit pointless too, since I already set a goal for the entire year; no need to make things worse by forcing myself through 5 books in 7 days. This means the only challenge I participate in, is the Goodreads challenge, by setting a goal for a certain number of books to read.

Reading challenge banner

When it comes to these challenges, I’m all rebel teen inside: forcing me to do something is the best way to make sure it’s not going to happen.

What’s your opinion about challenges? Do they actually help you read more (I know it works for some people)? Or do you dislike them, like I do?

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a book blogger #6 – I don’t like reading challenges

  1. I’m not doing any reading challenges this year, not even the goodreads one. I’m really focusing on being a ‘free range’ reader this year and just seeing where it takes me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great! I essentially did that last year. I did set a goal on Goodreads, but mostly just to show off, because I knew I would make it with the ridiculous amount of time I had available.
      Have you gotten to any great finds while ‘free ranging’ it?

      Like

  2. I also only participate in the GR challenge! That’s it, no other challenges for me either. They’re just stressful for me because then I have to keep track of everything and make posts and choose specific books. No thank you. I too am a mood reader and just want to read what I feel like without worrying whether it fits a specific challenge or not!

    Like

Leave a Reply

