Review: Eye of the Beholder by Harimandir Khalsa and Donna Henderson

 Book review | Eye of the Beholder by Harimandir Khalsa and Donna Henderson | 4 stars

Eye of the Beholder by Harimandir Khalsa and Donna Henderson

2015
ISBN: 9781512374629

Synopsis

Eye of the Beholder is offered as a resource to complement your current meditation practice or to give you a place to begin. Colorful mandalas and gentle suggestions will help you close the outer doors of your busy world and open the inner doors to your soul, which is beautiful. So, open the cover of this book and let the journey begin!


Bullet-point review

★★★★☆

+ beautiful
+ inspiring

 – there was one mandala with Buddhas that reminded me of gingerbread men
– I couldn’t always find everything that was hidden in the mandala
– too many dolphins

 


Full Review

As a general rule, I’m not a very meditative person. The closest I get is my yoga practice, and even then my mind is everywhere, unless I’m physically doing something. That being said, the mandalas and other illustrations in this book are gorgeous. I really enjoyed the varying color schemes.

Every two pages in this book are combined through a lovely illustration (mostly mandalas) and a short text.

I went through all of them in one sitting, slowly reading the short texts, which had a calming effect. Frustratingly enough though, I was unable to find all the hidden symbols in the mandalas, which are discussed at the very end of the book (it still bothers me a little).


One thought on “Review: Eye of the Beholder by Harimandir Khalsa and Donna Henderson

Leave a Reply

