Weekend in Cologne (11/12-06-2016)

You could have already quickly read about my weekend in Cologne in my previous Sunday Post. However, there is a lot more I can tell you about it, so if you’re interested, keep on reading!

We’ve been to Cologne a couple of times now, mostly for the same race we went this time. We’ve stayed in different hotels, and I’ve got to say that this one is the best so far. There is amazing and beautiful art all around the hotel, from the bathrooms to the lobby. The breakfast is amazing! They serve a full English (which I absolutely hate), as well as different kinds of granola, yogurts, cereals, rolls, cheese, cold cuts, jams and so much more! The staff was very kind and let us stay in the room till 3pm, because Alex wanted to take a shower after finishing the race. This, without any extra added costs. Admittedly, this is also one of the more expensive hotels we stayed in, so yea, there’s that. Here are some pictures to get an impression.

 

When you walk around in the city, there is a lot to see. We saw several different street artists, but the one in the next picture was the most amazing. He had made his own instrument by gluing (I assume) together several different sizes of plastic pipes. The rhythms and sounds he managed to make were absolutely stunning! Even a tv-crew was there filming for a while.

Oddly enough, I didn’t see any bookstores in the city center. I probably unintentionally skipped part of the city. That seems to happen to me a lot.

Of course I also shot a picture of the KΓΆlner Dom.

There seem to be quite a few vegan/vegetarian restaurants around Cologne. However, none were in the city center where we were when we got hungry, so instead we went with an old favorite: The Hardrock Cafe. Funnily enough someone always screws up our order. Happened again this time. Luckily they’re always quick to fix any problems and no harm was done, still almost a running joke now.

Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of the bike race. I made a video at the start though. I didn’t even spot Alex during the race. I had to go back and watch the video on my laptop to find him! Luckily I did get him in the video, so at least that went ok. There are some pictures from before the race though.

What’s the last city you visited? Any recommendations in case I ever end up there?

One thought on “Weekend in Cologne (11/12-06-2016)

Leave a Reply

