Confessions of a Book Blogger: I can DNF Books after all

A while back, I wrote a blog post where I explained that it is really hard for me to DNF (Did Not Finish) books. However, more recently I’ve changed a bit around in my life that has also affected my ability to DNF books.

As you’ve seen, I’ve gotten rid of a lot of things (and a lot of books) due to Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying. Our home has become less cluttered and all the things I didn’t like anyway have left the premises. This has also opened my eyes more and more to doing things I don’t like.

Of course, there are certain things you have to do, mostly because in the end they are beneficial. Finish school, go to work, go to the bathroom, getting dressed and more. However, finishing books that are boring, uninteresting, sexist or horribly written are definitely not part of this list.

Sure, I already knew this before, but somehow my mind would still see it as a failure if I didn’t finish the book. As a perfectionist, that was the hardest part. Failing to finish a book.

Now however, I see getting rid of a book I just can’t get through as a victory. A victory over the restrictions I have, for so long, placed on myself. It still feels scary, and a little part of my brain still isn’t convinced that it isn’t really failure taking over after all. However, practice makes perfect. Or, from the field of behavioral psychology: just keep doing it until the anxiety about it subsides and it’ll become as normal as waking up in the morning.

So, for all those out there I can tell you from personal experience: it is possible. And it’s freeing to be able to say to a book: “You suck, fuck off! Stop wasting my time.”

Leave a Reply

