Places with books: an old telephone cell in Berlin

Last week I went to the Dutch embassy in Berlin to get my passport renewed. On the drive there, a couple hundred meters before arriving at our destination, I spotted a telephone cell, lined with books. Obviously, I had to go back there after renewing my passport. It’s between the river Spree and the Kupfergraben, a canal. Besides all the work that’s being done on the streets, it’s quite a lovely part of Berlin. The telephone cell was right next to Novotel Berlin Mitte, on the B1 (Bundesstraße 1). It looked absolutely lovely, so you’ll understand that I had to take a picture and have a look inside. By the time I got there, I had to wait… someone else had just gone in. And there’s just not enough space for more than one person in these things.

It’s not too far away from the Alexanderplatz and the Fernsehturm. So, if you’re ever in Berlin and need something to read, or perhaps want to drop off a book. This is at least one place you could visit.

Of course I had to pick up a book. I’d never heard of this one before, but the premise sounded very intriguing. Hopefully it’s a good one, because it’s huge (800+ pages). If not, you’ll all remember how I finally managed to DNF books, so I’m sure I’ll be fine.

Ps. I don’t really go looking for any of these, but I’m always very excited to see them and like to have a look around. Perhaps I’ll find my next favorite book there!

2 thoughts on “Places with books: an old telephone cell in Berlin

Leave a Reply

